Upcycling baby clothes project implemented

Hello

I found a little time over the weekend to start another project which I have been thinking about for many years.  I wonder how long it will be until this one gets finished.

Anyway, I was a bit of a hoarder when my boys were little and stored the majority of their baby clothes up until a point where space had ran out and I discovered my slightly more ruthless side.  But what I had stored still remained in a few large boxes in the loft some 8 years later and I have been wanting to clear the loft but didn’t want to just get rid of the clothes as they trigger so many memories.

So, I got said boxes out of the loft and spent some 5 or so hours sorting them into piles.  My boys had a great time helping me and were very interested in reminiscing and hearing stories.  They enjoyed matching clothes to photos on the wall.

I had been toying with the idea of making a quilt and I know due to the nature of baby clothes that they are not ideal for patchwork, but I am not entering into this project for it to be perfect but for me to have something to enable me to cherish those memories.

So, full of enthusiasm, I put one load straight through the washing machine ready to start…..

….and this is my waste pile from my first batch of t-shirts…..quite impressive really.

WP_20140726_001

My little boy had great fun in removing all buttons for later embellishing.

More importantly, this is the pile of material ready to cut into shapes….

WP_20140726_012

Not bad from one load of washing.

Of course, the puppy wanted to “help” as always…

WP_20140726_011

I just need to decide what exactly I’m gonna do.  Like always I have lots of ideas and I need to choose just one …. well to start with.

Thanks for visiting.

TTFN.

M.

 

One thought on “Upcycling baby clothes project implemented

Leave a Reply

